Skip to content

Engineering Resources

Electronic Databases

Several important databases in engineering are available through the library. Students and faculty can search these databases free of charge. Most are available via the Worldwide Web.

COMPENDEX. 1884-present. Online.
This is equivalent to the Engineering Index, however, it is much more powerful than the printed index. Includes most journals and major conference proceedings in engineering and allows you to customize a search using subject terms, keywords, author names, title words and other categories. Searches can also be limited by, for example, journal title, conference name and language. Each record on this database, as with most others, includes citations and abstracts, not the full text of articles.

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983-present. Online.
References articles in journals, magazines and trade journals in engineering, technology and construction management.

Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts. 1982-present. Online.
Indexes journal and trade magazine articles in biotechnology.

BNA's Environment and Safety Library on the Web.   Online.
Includes regulations, laws and other material dealing with environmental issues.

CAB Abstracts. 1972-present.
Covers agricultural engineering, biotechnology, genetic engineering and other agricultural topics.

Civil Engineering Database (ASCE). Online. 
Indexes the journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Environmental Engineering Abstracts. 1990-present. Online.
Focuses specifically on environmental topics.

GeoRef. 1789-present. Online.
Mainly oriented toward geology but contains much material on geotechnical engineering.

IEEExplore. 1998-present. Online.
Provides subject indexing for IEEE publications.  Gives links to online full-text of IEEE journals and conference proceedings..

Mechanical Engineering Abstracts. 1981-present. Online.
Indexes journals articles and conference papers specific to mechanical engineering.

NTIS.   1980-present. Online.
Consists of references to reports held by the National Technical Information Service. This includes reports of most research done under contract to the U.S. Government.

Pollution Abstracts. 1996-present. Online.
Cites journal articles, conference proceeding papers, government reports and other documents in the areas of pollution and environmental concern.

Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts. 1981-present. Online.

Sweet's System Online Building Product Information.   Online

Water Resources Abstracts. 1967-present. Online.
This is a comprehensive database covering journals and conference proceedings in hydrology, water management, hydraulic engineering and civil engineering relating to hydrology.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index). 1973-present.  Online.

 

For more information about any of the engineering online databases, contact Mike Culbertson at 491-1874 or email.