Subjects
If you only know your topic. (Also see the subject guides.)
Database Title Begins With:
Help with Research Databases
Which database should I use?
I need. . .
- articles on a particular topic -- use SUBJECT to pick a database
- articles on a current events topic -- use a MULTI-DISCIPLINARY database or NEWSPAPERS AND NEWSWIRES
- newspaper articles -- use NEWSPAPERS AND NEWSWIRES
- to use a specific database (ERIC, AGRICOLA) -- use TITLE to find the database
- a couple of articles really quickly -- my paper is due today -- use FULL TEXT
-
an article on a certain topic from a specific journal (such as
Journal of Psychology) -- use
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out which database to search in.
- any article (not one on a specific topic) from a particular journal -- find the call number for the journal in Sage and flip through the journal issues. You may also browse the electronic journals by journal title. Ask for help at the Information Desk if you cannot find what you need.
How do I know which subject to choose?
- Ask for help at the Information Desk if you need help selecting an appropriate subject for your topic.
What's the password for the databases?
- On campus use of databases and electronic journals does not require any password for access.
- Off campus use of the databases, FindIt (SFX) or Citation Linker requires that you authenticate yourself by logging in with your name, CSU ID number and PIN. Click http://catalog.library.colostate.edu/patroninfo to setup your PIN.
How do I find an article from a specific journal?
- Do you have the date of the journal, author name, and other information about the article?
If so, then use the Find Journals page.
- If you do not need a specific article in that journal, then use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out which database includes information from that particular journal. Ask for help at the Information Desk if you cannot find what you need.
Does CSU Libraries own this journal (or magazine or newspaper)?
Where are the journals & newspapers located?
- Current journals are typically found in the Journal Room on the second floor. Older issues may be in the Movable Shelves on the lower level or in Storage. If you need help, ask at the Information Desk.
- Search for the journal or newspaper title (not the name of the article) and click on Search Sage Library Catalog. If the publication is available only in print, write down the call number.
OR
- Do a JOURNAL TITLE search in the Library Catalog and look at the location. Write down the call number for the journal. (You will also need the volume, year and page numbers for the specific article in that journal.) See detailed instructions at "Locate the Journal."
How do I find out the full title of a journal? (Some databases use abbreviations for journal title names.)
Does EndNote work with CSU databases?
- Bibliographic citations that are downloaded from any CSU database can be imported into these products. As an added feature, the Z39.50 protocol within EndNote enables the researcher to directly search and automatically import citations seamlessly. Z39.50 protocol works with the SAGE library catalog and many databases including those available from the FirstSearch, EBSCO, Ovid, and SilverPlatter vendors. Please see the Endnote page for more information.
What if the database I need isn't working?
- Sometimes there may be technical problems that prevent you from using your favorite database. Databases that are not working should be reported to the Information Desk. (970-491-1841). The Information Desk staff can also offer suggestions on a different database to use. Alternatively you can use the Database Feedback Form.
What if I need more help?