Skip to content

CrossFire Beilstein & CrossFire Gmelin

(offered through DiscoveryGate)

DiscoveryGate is licensed through MDL Information Systems, Inc. and MDL Information Systems GmbH and is protected by United States and international copyright and other intellectual property laws. Use of DiscoveryGate is strictly limited and is governed by the terms of MDL's DiscoveryGate Evaluation/License Agreement. Complete terms of use can be found at the bottom of this page.

  • The content may be used only for non-commercial, educational or research purposes by Authorized Users (currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of CSU)
  • Users may print or electronically save a single copy of limited, insubstantial portions of DiscoveryGate Databases for individual and collaborative scholarship, however, systematic downloading and/or redistribution to non-subscribers is prohibited.

As you use DiscoveryGate, please keep the above obligations in mind. If you fail to adhere to them, you may lose your network privileges and face other disciplinary action. Severe breaches of the license terms can result in the entire University losing access to this valuable resource. For more details about your obligations when using University computing and network resources, see the Acceptable Use Policy (AUP) for Computing and Networking Resources at Colorado State University.

Terms of Use

  1. Grant of License. During the term and subject to all of the provisions of this Agreement, MDL grants to LICENSEE a nonexclusive, non-sublicensable and non-transferable license, to allow its Authorized Users at the Site(s) specified on the Order Form to access, execute and use the applicable Client Helper Application(s), Hosted Server Applications(s) and licensed Database(s) specified on the Order Form. LICENSEE's Authorized Users may view, search and print chemical structures and associate data contained in the Databases. This license is solely for academic research and/or teaching use.
  2. Non Permitted Use. LICENSEE shall NOT nor allow its Authorized Users to:
    • use DiscoveryGate for purposes other than academic research and/or teaching;
    • establish any indirect connections through an IP address or other means allowing access to Non-Authorized Users or to computers not owned or controlled by LICENSEE or; or use external means (e.g. robots, “spider” or “web-crawling” or other software programs, routines, or other mechanized devices to automatically search, index and /or data mine information within DiscoveryGate ;
    • use or attempt to use Discovery Gate to aid the design, development, production or use of chemical or biological weapons;
    • sell, rent, transfer, lease, lend, sublicense, provide or otherwise make DiscoveryGate or any portions or copies available to anyone (excluding LICENSEE's Authorized User(s));
    • use DiscoveryGate to create any computer software application or database for resale;
    • to the maximum extent permitted under applicable law, reverse assemble, reverse compile or otherwise reverse engineer or attempt to reconstruct or discover source code, the structure, sequence or organization of source code, underlying ideas, programming of interoperability interfaces of DiscoveryGate or portions or of any files contained in or generated using DiscoveryGate by any means whatsoever;
    • remove any product identification, copyright or other notices contained in or on DiscoveryGate or portions;
    • modify, incorporate into or with other software or create a derivative work of or transform DiscoveryGate or any portion except as expressly granted herein or as documented in the Documentation.

    Notwithstanding the limitations above, LICENSEE may extract, copy, and transform a limited, insubstantial portion of the data contained within one or more Databases in furtherance of its research (e.g. to document experiments, create reports, and the like). "A limited, insubstantial portion in furtherance of its research" means a small percentage of the facts, data, and/or other information records in the Database or from any particular Database field for use in LICENSEE’s research, such as is clearly consistent with United States copyright law.

  3. Confidentiality. DiscoveryGate contains valuable confidential and proprietary information of MDL and its licensors, and LICENSEE and its Authorized Users shall:
    • keep confidential all such proprietary information;
    • disclose such information only to the extent required to use DiscoveryGate under the terms of this Agreement; and
    • protect all such proprietary information made available to them by LICENSEE.

    This obligation does not, however, preclude LICENSEE or Authorized Users from using or disclosing information which is:

    • already in the public domain at the time of use or disclosure;
    • already known to LICENSEE or is rightfully received by LICENSEE from a third party without any obligation of confidentiality;
    • independently developed by persons without access to MDL's confidential information. LICENSEE may disclose confidential information to the minimum extent possible that is required to be disclosed to a governmental entity or agency in connection with seeking any governmental or regulatory approval, provided that reasonable measures are taken to guard against further disclosure, including without limitation, seeking appropriate confidential treatment or a protective order, or assisting MDL to do so.

I accept these terms and conditions.
 
Download DiscoveryGate for Windows now.


Download DiscoveryGate for Mac now.

Content: Michelle.Wilde