Main

February 04, 2008

New Web of Science

The Web of Science Database has a new search interface and great new features. You have more options for searching and refining your search results. For handouts which describe some of the added benifits of the new interface visit: New Web of Science Tips and Tricks at http://lib.colostate.edu/instruction/workshops/wospdi.html.

December 12, 2007

Greater Access to the NTIS Collection

Greater Access to the NTIS Collection Now Available Search NTIS.GOV for titles from 1964 to present
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx

NTIS is pleased to launch its improved search engine with features such as: Enhanced retrieval with search functionality for categories, collections, and source agencies.

The NTIS search engine now more powerfully finds the information you need.

The Advanced Searching capabilities allows for an even greater
focus on appropriate content for your search.

Expanded access to the NTIS collection now includes the ability to
search, retrieve and select from over 3.0 million products.

==Improved access with new NTIS titles added each week.
==Customers are provided a Product File of related purchased titles
==Now you can find virtually any item in the NTIS collection and order many in your choice of format (downloads, printed copy, CD ROM or microfiche).
==Search Help has step by step instructions and graphics: http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
==All search results include a brief product description and easy access to place your order online, quickly, easily and securely.


Information for this posting came from the STS-L LIstserv posted on 12-12-2007

November 15, 2007

CHEMnetBASE New Database Available

New Database: CHEMnetBASE (vendor: CRC Press):
According to the vendor: "Comprising Chapman & Hall/CRC's premier chemistry references, this comprehensive and highly interactive resource allows you to search and extract essential data and tables."
Our subscription includes:
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
Dictionary of Drugs
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
Dictionary of Natural Products
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds

September 12, 2007

New Database: Index to American Botanical Literature

Index to American Botanical Literature (vendor: NY Botanical Garden): According to NYBG, "The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995."

April 13, 2007

New Digital Reference Collection

CSU Libraries recently acquired the Gale Virtual Reference Library. This is a searchable collection of over 200 full-text reference titles. Articles from the collection are available in PDF format and researchers can search and download images. The collection is multi-disciplinary and includes sub-collections for Medicine, Environment, and General Science. Some of the notable science titles include Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, and Water: Science and Issues. This collection is accessible from the libraries Research Databases page.

December 18, 2006

Web of Science Launches EndNote Web

The newest enhancement on Web of Science allows registered users to save up to 10,000 citations in an online library and effortlessly format reference lists in hundreds of different formats. The advantage of using the web version of EndNote is that your list of citations are available from any computer and you are not tied to your desktop. Web of Science also offers plug-ins for you browser that allow you to cite while you write and to save citations online to your EndNote Web library in Internet Explorer. To use this tool, go to Web of Science, perform your search, select the citations you want to save and click on "Save to my EndNote Web." You will be prompted to register. You can then click on "Go to my EndNote Web Library" to edit your citations or create a bibliography. More information on this tool is available here.

October 26, 2006

Electronic Reference Books in the Sciences

If you are looking for reliable sources for information at three in the morning or on a snowy day while working at home, there are several resources available online to help. Try searching our online catalog for electronic books by limiting the Material Type to either "E-Books" or "E-Resources." One particularly rich resource available at CSU Libraries is the Knovel Library collection of online books covering a variety of scientific disciplines ranging from Biochemistry & Biology to Environment & Environmental Engineering.

Online books in Biomedicine are available through the NCBI Bookshelf. This is a freely available collection of 60 online books that are searchable through the PubMed database.

September 22, 2006

Finding Online Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses published since 1997 are often available in an online format through the library database Digital Dissertations and Theses . This database covers all disciplines, is international in scope, and has several unique search features such as school name, advisor, and degree.

Many schools are now making their students' dissertations and theses freely available online through an open access database called Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD). This database is also international and currently has 60 institutions that submit materials.

September 07, 2006

Classes on Database Searching in Denver

Denison Library is hosting three instruction sessions between October 4 - 6 on how to search National Library of Medicine databases. There will offer an all-day session on searching thePubMed database. An all-day session on searching TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network) and a half-day session covering ClincalTrials.gov and NLM Gateway. For information on registration go to NLM Training Registration - http://nnlm.gov/ntcc/request.html

July 18, 2006

Web of Science Improves Search

Web of Science has added a "Refine your results" feature to their topic search. This feature is an obvious and intuitive way of limiting the results of a broad search by subject category, title or author name (see example below).


Screen shot of Web of Science


Web of Science has also introduced RSS feeds for saved search alerts as well as a guided "Author Finder."

June 15, 2006

Journal Citation Reports 2005 Is Now Available

The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provide the researcher a way to review and evaluation selected journals based on citation data. The Science Edition includes information from 5,900 journals in science and technology.

The JCR database is available from the CSU Libraries Database page. Access is limited to CSU faculty, staff, and students.

Continue reading "Journal Citation Reports 2005 Is Now Available" »

June 14, 2006

Expand Your Summer Reading--Set Up Alert Services

Are you looking for a way to catch up on journal readings? Would you like to have specific database search results emailed to you? Then take a look at the new CSU Libraries Webpage about Alert Services. (http://lib.colostate.edu/research/alerts/)

Saved Search Alerts and Table of Contents (TOC) Alerts are two ways of staying current without having to regularly access databases.

Continue reading "Expand Your Summer Reading--Set Up Alert Services" »

May 24, 2006

PubMed Introduces Grant Number Searching

PubMed now allows users to perform a literature search using NIH grant numbers or Wellcome Trust grant numbers as the search term. Instructions for searching by NIH grant numbers are available here and instructions for searching by Wellcome Trust numbers are available here.

Found via NLM Technical Bulletin.

May 08, 2006

New Fungicide and Nematicide Tests Online via Plant Management Network

Plant Management Network (PMN) is a subscription database available from CSUL.
Information from the PMN online newsletter, "Fungicide and Nematicide Tests, Volume 61 (2006), has now been posted under the Resources tab at Plant Management Network.
The volume contains 472 new reports of test results for fungicides and nematicides on cereal and forage crops; field crops; ornamentals and trees; pome fruits; small fruits; stone fruits and nuts; turfgrass; vegetable, citrus, and tropical crops; and seed treatments.
Information for this posting is from the PMN Update

Continue reading "New Fungicide and Nematicide Tests Online via Plant Management Network" »

April 25, 2006

New - Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Online

The online version of the 20 volume, print encyclopedia by Nature Publishing Group is now available at CSU Libraries. The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) online can search the full-text of the entire encyclopedia and results are available in PDF and HTML. This is a fantastic resource for reliable, quick, factual information. The ELS is also in the process of incorporating the 5 volume, Encyclopedia of the Human Genome into the online version. This resource can be accessed through the databases page.

April 05, 2006

FindIt at CSU Libraries

Database citations now look a little different.

Picture of the FindIt button This is the new look of the SFX button. The functionality of the two buttons are nearly identical. The change reflects a move away from the SFX brand name in favor of descriptive terminology that is clearer to novice users. The FindIt button launches a menu that allows you to automatically search our subscriptions for full text of the article online or in print. It will also automatically populate an interlibrary loan request form. Further information is available at FindIt Frequently Asked Questions

March 20, 2006

Historical Scientific Research

CSU Libraries has enhanced our historical scientific content with two recent additions. The Web of Science - Century of Science collection added the records for 262 scientific journals published between 1900-1944 to the Web of Science database. This is a broad collection and includes subject matter in the biological sciences, chemistry, and math. The CAB Abstracts Archive includes 1,860,000 records from 1900-1973. The focus of this resource is agricultural sciences, veterinary medicine, and natural resources. Both of these resources are available through CSU Libraries databases page.

March 17, 2006

AgEcon Search Reaches 20,000th Paper Milestone

AgEcon Search, http://agecon.lib.umn.edu/, is a free-to-user Web resource with full-text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in agricultural, resource, environmental, consumer, and other areas of applied economics.

Continue reading "AgEcon Search Reaches 20,000th Paper Milestone" »